Educational Services and Innovative Programs Division » Special Education » Individualized Education Program - IEP

Individualized Education Program - IEP

The Individualized Education Program (IEP) is a formalized, legal plan that identifies a student's educational needs and sets goals for meeting those needs. Specific educational settings and/or support services in the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) are discussed and determined by the IEP team members.

  • Present levels of academic achievement and functional performance
  • A statement of measurable annual goals
  • Progress on annual goals/benchmarks
  • Special Education related services and supplementary aides and services
  • Program modifications/accommodations or supports for school personnel
  • Extent of participation in regular education programs with nondisabled peers
  • Participation in assessments
  • Placement
  • Extended School Year services
Additional information may also be provided in the IEP, if needed, based upon the evaluation results and input from IEP team members.

IEP Team Members:

  • Parent/Guardian
  • Special education teacher of the child
  • General education teacher of the child
  • District representative
  • Student, when appropriate
  • Individuals who can interrupt instructional implications of assessments
  • Other individuals with knowledge or special expertise
  • Other agencies

 (Ed. Code 56341 (b))

Annually, an IEP meeting is held by the IEP team at the comprehensive campus where the student attends. The purpose of the annual IEP meeting is to develop, review and/or revise a student's IEP. 
Every three years students who receive Special Education services must be re-evaluated to determine their continued need for Special Education services. After the student is re-evaluated a Triennial IEP meeting is held by the IEP team to review assessments/evaluation results and determine the continued eligibility for Special Education services.

Disability Categories under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) which children ages 3 to 21 years old may be eligible to receive Special Education services:

  • Autism (AUT)
  • Deaf/Blindness (DEAF)
  • Deafness (DB)
  • Emotional Disturbance ED)
  • Hard of Hearing (HH)
  • Intellectual Disabilities (ID)
  • Multiple Disability (MD)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI)
  • Other Health Impairment (OHI)
  • Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
  • Speech/Language Impairment (SLI)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Visual Impairment (VI)