Kern High School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Kern High Activities & Athletics
Superintendent & Board of Trustees » Police Department » Vehicle Impounds

Vehicle Impounds

30-Day Impounds

When a Vehicle is Impounded

California Vehicle Code Sections 14602.6 and 14602.7 authorize law enforcement agencies to impound a vehicle for 30 days when the driver either has a suspended or revoked driver’s license, or has never been issued a driver’s license. A vehicle that has been so impounded shall be impounded for 30 days.

If your vehicle was impounded by Kern High School Police Department please read the following information:

Vehicle Releases May Be Obtained At:

Kern High School Police Department 5801 Sundale Ave EOC Building Bakersfield, Ca 93309

Business Hours: 7:30am – 4:00pm – Mon – Fri. Closed Saturday and Sunday

Requirements for Release

Registered Owner Must:

  • Present proof of current vehicle registration and proof of insurance (a valid temporary moving permit issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles is required for vehicles without current registration). The vehicle will only be released to the registered owner.
  • Present a valid driver’s license.
  • If the registered owner does not have a valid driver’s license, someone with a valid driver’s license must accompany him/her.
  • Fees are due at time of release and payable to Kern High School Police Department.

 

We accept Cashier Checks, or Money Orders only.

30 Day Impounds for DUI, unlicensed, or suspended/revoked licenses.

Vehicles will not be released until 30 calendar days have elapsed, or the Hearing Officer has released the hold.

KHSD Police Impound/Towing Fees

The registered owner is responsible for all charges for towing and storage placed on the vehicle by the tow company and by Kern High School Police Department. The tow company must be contacted for information regarding their towing/storage fees. Kern High School Police vehicle release fees are listed below.

$125.00 for CVC DUI, Unlicensed, Suspended or Revoked Licenses OR $85.00 for Standard Tow (Illegally Parked, Abandoned Vehicles, etc.)

Make Cashier Checks or Money Orders payable to: Kern High School Police Department

30-Day Impound Hearing

Eligibility Information

The registered owner, or lien holder, of an impounded vehicle is entitled to have an impound hearing within 10 days of notification to determine if the vehicle is eligible to be released earlier than the mandatory 30 days. However, it is important to note that a hearing is not for the purpose of asking for leniency or stating excuses. The sole purpose of a hearing is to question the impound’s validity.

An impounded vehicle is eligible for early release to the registered owner only under the following circumstances:

  • If the person who was driving at the time of impoundment obtains a valid driver’s license or gets his/her suspended or revoked license reinstated, and there is proof of current vehicle registration and insurance.
  • If the vehicle was being driven by an unlicensed employee of a business establishment, such as a parking garage or repair garage.
  • If the vehicle is a stolen vehicle. In this case, it would be helpful if the registered owner brought any documentation, witnesses, or other information that will assist in presenting the case. A stolen vehicle report must be filed. The person charged with this crime will be subject to arrest.

 

If your situation meets any of these circumstances, you may request an impound hearing to see if your vehicle is eligible for release. Bring all of the documentation and evidence to prove your case. The registered owner may call 661-827-3218, Monday – Friday, between 7:30am and 4:00pm to request and schedule hearing.

Lien Holder Information

Repossessing Impounded Vehicles

The lien holder, or finance company, of an impounded vehicle may pick up the vehicle directly from the tow yard. They must sign a promise not to release the vehicle to the registered owner for the same 30-day period for which the vehicle was impounded. Lien holders are still liable for all fees and storage charges except for the police department administrative fee. Lien holders must bring all documentation showing that they are the legal owner, and repossession paperwork. Car rental agencies do not need repossession paperwork.

Tow/Storage Facilities

Bakersfield

Barnett’s 661-834-8423 2217 Coy Ave. Bakersfield

Dave’s 661-322-8255 1401 Washington St. Bakersfield

Randy’s 661-326-9200 1000 Mt. Vernon Ave. Bakersfield

Fleet Services 661-615-6130 5001 Stine Rd. Bakersfield

Fleet Services 661-615-6130 5001 Stine Rd. Bakersfield

H & S 661-324-6703 314 California Ave. Bakersfield

K & R 661-833-4045 2221 Coy Ave. Bakersfield

Jim’s 661-831-1136 300 Terrace Way Bakersfield

Ten Eight 661-746-0749 1101 Inyo St. Bakersfield

Golden Empire 661-834-8697 1915 South Union Ave. Bakersfield

Louie’s 661-397-6010 1898 S. Union Ave Bakersfield

Shafter

Ten Eight 661-746-0749 1200 E. Los Angeles, Shafter

Devon’s Tow 661-746-4622 115 S. Beach Ave, Shafter

Jim’s Tow 661-746-4257 30728 Imperial, Shafter

Kern Valley

Kern Valley Auto Body & Towing 760-376-2712 7421 Wofford Heights Bl., Wofford Heights

B & D Towing 760-379-6135 4112 Perdue St, Lake Isabella

Arvin/Lamont

Golden Empire 661-845-6947 8200 Buena Vista, Lamont

 

Vehicle Impound 24 Hour Info Line:

661-827-3218

If after listening to the information line, you have further questions, contact Kern High School Police Department at 661-827-3218 during regular business hours of 7:30am – 4:00pm, Monday – Friday.